Skip to Content

Australian Agency for International Development (AusAID) Activities in the Limpopo River Basin

The Limpopo River basin is shared by four SADC Member States with Botswana, South Africa, Zimbabwe and Mozambique and has a total catchment area of approximately 408,000 square kilometers. The catchment characteristics are very diverse covering different climatic and topographic zones. Water resources thus differ much between the different sub-catchments and between countries. The commitment of the riparian states managing their water resources together dates back to 1986, when the “Limpopo Basin Permanent Technical Committee” was jointly established. In 2003 this cooperation was fostered through the multilateral agreement to establish the Limpopo Water Course Commission (LIMCOM). Riparian states ratified this agreement in 2010. The establishment of the LIMCOM and the Interim-Secretariat has created the basis for implementing joint transboundary river basin management in the Limpopo River basin. The joint management will enhance the possibility to focus the activities and development to the most needed areas and to overcome some of the limited resources that individual countries have. Within the framework of the the GIZ “Transboundary Water Management in SADC” programme, that is jointly supported by the German, British and Australian governments, it was agreed in 2008 supporting the LIMCOM with assistance for its interim secretariat, technical support for the Limpopo Scoping Study and of awareness raising tools, like to Limpopo River Awareness Kit.




    no articles available