Skip to Content

Limpopo River Basin

The Limpopo River basin is shared by four SADC Member States with Botswana, South Africa, Zimbabwe and Mozambique and has a total catchment area of approximately 408,000 square kilometers. The catchment characteristics are very diverse covering different climatic and topographic zones. Water resources thus differ much between the different sub-catchments and between countries. The commitment of the riparian states managing their water resources together dates back to 1986, when the “Limpopo Basin Permanent Technical Committee” was jointly established. In 2003 this cooperation was fostered through the multilateral agreement to establish the Limpopo Water Course Commission (LIMCOM). Riparian states ratified this agreement in 2010.

Total Area: 408,000 km2
Riparian Countries: Botswana, Mozambique, South Africa, Zimbabwe

ICPs working in the Limpopo river basin:

River Basin Organisations (RBOs) working in the Limpopo river basin:

Projects within the Limpopo river basin: