Skip to Content

Maputo River Basin

The Maputo basin is shared by Mozambique, South Africa and Swaziland and includes the tributaries Pongola and Usuthu Rivers and the estuary. These riparian states establised in 1983 the "Tripartite Permanent Technical Committee" (TPTC) to agree on water use in the shared watercourses enabling sustainable development.

Total Area:
29,970 km2
Riparian Countries: Mozambique, South Africa, Swaziland

ICPs working in the Maputo river basin:

River Basin Organisations (RBOs) working in the Maputo river basin:

Projects within the Maputo river basin: